• The Faroe Islands

    For several years I have spent part of each year in the Faroe Islands. In 2005-6 I lived for 14 months in Fuglafjørður, my father’s home town.

    The Faroe Islands are 18 small islands in the North Atlantic, north of the British Isles, a semi-independent territory of Denmark, with their own language (Faroese), their own flag, and limited self-rule. It is a small country (49,000 people) and very remote, but a completely modern, industrialized Scandinavian country.

    You can email me at jehenke@gmail.com. I hope to hear from you.

  • Categories

  • Meta

In Memory of Jennifer Henke (1946-2014) (photos)

Jennifer Elizabeth Henke of Richmond, California, died on December 27, 2014 in El Cerrito, California, of pancreatic cancer. She was 68 years old. Full obituary

4 Responses

  1. I had the privilege of meeting Jenny through Jane Choulett a few years ago and felt she was a very friendly, kind and loving person. I am so sorry for her family and friends great loss in having her leave this earth so soon. I pray for strength for all of you in this sad time but know that she is not suffering any more. She had a wonderful and full life.

    Sincerely,

    Kathy Borgfeldt

  2. My heart was saddened to hear of Jennie’s passing, but I am so glad she loved the Lord and we will see again. I was so glad she had made it to our last family reunion in Merced at Dan and Joyce’s. I had a nice visit with her then. May God give each of you comfort. That is my prayer.

  3. I’m so sorry to have only now learned of Jennie’s passing. I followed her blog for years and she very graciously sought out answers to any question I had about life in the Faroes. May she always rest in peace

  4. So sorry to (only recently) have heard about Jenny’s death. I took over from her at UCSF Medical Center and worked closely with her for a few years prior to her retirement (i.e. her training me “allowed” her to retire).

    The computer system she helped develop and maintain at UCSF Medical Center for over 26 (?) years (STOR/CDS) was one of the earliest Electronic Medical Record (EMR) systems in the U.S.A. (so probably the world). It was decommissioned in 2012 after being in use 24/7 for ~30 years, however, much of the medical records data contained therein was converted into U.C.S.F.’s new “Epic” (a.k.a. Apex) EMR system and is used in ongoing patient care.

    As STOR/CDS contained such a (probably uniquely) long history of medical records data (dating from the early 1980s) the data contained in it is also (at the time of writing) being extracted into a medical research database, so Jenny’s legacy lives on there too.

    As I said above, I was so sorry to hear about Jenny’s untimely death and although we only kept in touch sporadically (she was a busy lady post retirement), I considered her a friend and miss her; especially knowing that she’s not with us any more.

Leave a comment